Pus Comes to Shove Platypus - When Pus Comes to Shove (Velvet) 1998

1. "Standing in Line" (3:10)
2. "Nothing to Say" (4:54)
3. "Rock Balls/Destination Unkown" [instrumental] (7:40)
4. "Platt Opus" (5:01)
5. "I'm With You" (4:13)
6. "Blue Plate Special" [instrumental] (7:21)
7. "Chimes" [instrumental] (4:45)
8. "Willie Brown" (5:03)
9. "Bye Bye" (4:51)
10. "What About the Merch?"[instrumental] (4:31)

This side project of King's X guitarist Ty Tabor is actually quite enjoyable. Unlike some other side projects by Ty and his King's X band mates, this one doesn't sound like a King's X record without their logo on it. This is truly a diverse, progressive rock 'n roll CD. Ty is Surrounded by stellar band members Rod Morgenstein (former Dregs drummer), Derek Sherinian (Dream Theater keyboardist) and John Myung (Dream Theater bassist). Together these guys combine elements of King Crimson, Kansas, Deep Purple, the Dregs and King's X to create something quite unique. "What About the Merch?" especially has that Dixie Dreggs meets Deep Purple sound. Other songs have a more ethereal feel. It's actually quite hard to put into words, but I can't imagine any fan of progressive rock not finding something to like here. It's really very enjoyable.

Ice Cycles Platypus - Ice Cycles (Inside Out) 2000

1. "Oh God" (4:16)
2. "Better Left Unsaid" (5:24)
3. "The Tower" (3:30)
4. "Cry" (6:15)
5. "I Need You" (4:17)
6. "25" [instrumental] (5:09)
7. "Gone" (6:42)
8. "Partial to the Bean" (10:33)
...a) Intro Pompatous
...b) Yoko One
...c) Yoko Two-No
...d) Yoko Three-No
...e) Platmosis
...f) Yoko Againo
...g) Yoko Outro

It might sound trite to say that this disc sounds like a mixture of King's X and Dream Theater, since this band features players from both Dream Theater and King's X, but that is honestly a very good description. With King's X Ty Tabor writing, singing playing guitar and producing this project, the sound leans closer to his band's sound. Album openers "Oh God" and "Better Left Unsaid" are both moody King's X-like songs that easily would have fit on any of their albums. However, there are moments when keyboardist Derek Sherinian and bassist John Myung shine and brings out that smooth Dream Theater sound. Check out the instrumental "25" for an example of some outstanding keyboard and bass work. I also hear a nod to the forefathers of the 70’s and early 80’s neo-Metal bands as well.""Cry"" for instance brought on images of bands like early Genesis and Yes, especially in the keyboards and the instrumental break in the middle of the song. "Ice Cycles" has enough creativity and musicianship to win over the most discerning prog-rock/metal fan but also has enough hooks and memorable compositions to pull in just about any fan of melodic hard rock. The highlight of this disc, however, is the diversely–influenced, multi–part prog epic "Partial To The Bean." An absolutely brilliant composition that allows all the instruments to take their moment in the spotlight. I also found the names of the parts of this song to be quite amusing. Overall, I would say that "Ice Cycles" is essential for any King's X fan, but this platter will most certainly be of interest to any fan of prog-rock.

Back to Index


href="/cdlist.html" target="_self">Back to Index