Formed in 1986 in Bern, Switzerland. Poltergeist put out several demos and three albums before disbanning in 1995; Depression 1989, Behind the Maks, 1991, and Nothing Last's Forever, 1994.

Behind the Mask Poltergeist - Behind the Mask (Century Media) 1991

1. "We are the People" (4:21)
2. "Behind the Mask" (4:17)
3. "Act of Violence" (4:58)
4. "Grey" (3:19)
5. "Delusion" (4:29)
6. "Drilled to Kill" (4:22)
7. "Make your Choice" (3:34)
8. "Chato's Land" (4:21)
9. "Still Alive" (03:19)
10. "Driftin' Away" (2:56)

A friend from Norway told me to keep an eye open for this CD. As he stated, this is a "stunning" thrash metal CD. Well, he certainly knows my tastes, as that is exactly how I would describe it. Despite the thrash label, however, Poltergeist do manage to mix it up a bit, experimenting with their sound and offering some slight variations to the German thrash formula. Fortunately these experiments work well and are used sparingly. For the most part "Behind the Mask" just thrashes along at neck-break speed. Along with Accuser and Equinox, these guys are one of my favorite 'recent' discoveries and could be one of the most underground, underrated thrash metal bands ever.

Back to Index