Poundhound is a solo project of King's X bassist/vocalist/songwriter Doug Pinnick.
Doug also recorded a disc with Trouble's Bruce Franklin called Supershine.

Massive Grooves...
Poundhound - Massive Grooves from the Electric Church of Psychofunkadelic Rock Music
(Metal Blade) 1998

1.   "Rev" (:21)
2.   "Jangle" (3:02)
3.   "Shake" (3:44)
4.   "Music" (3:14)
5.   "Love" (3:34)
6.   "Darker" (3:10)
7.   "Friends" (4:09)
8.   "Soul" (2:57)
9.   "Supersalad" (3:39)
10. "Psycholove" (2:37)
11. "Blindeye" (2:47)
12. "Red" (4:04)
13. "Hey" (5:33)
14. "River" (1:12)

This is a FABULOUS King's X, err, I mean Doug Pinnick solo disc. Seriously, I think Doug put all his good ideas into this album and the rest went into King's X "Tape Head." There are some seriously heavy songs ("Shake," "Darker") on this disc as well as some cool riffs and an almost Jimi Hendrix experimental feel. The whole disc smokes! The rest of the King's X guys make appearances in one way of another as well. Jerry Gaskill does some drum work and the disc is mastered by Ty Tabor. Catchy album title to boot.

Pineappleskunk Poundhound - Pineappleskunk (Metal Blade) 2001

1. "Somedays" (3:13)
2. "Rise-N-Shine" (1:02)
3. "Jumpin" (3:10)
4. "Mind" (4:45)
5. "Oh My Soul" (3:48)
6. "Next in Line" (3:17)
7. "Rain" (3:52)
8. "Pineapple" (3:40)
9. "Wrong Address" (:33)
10. "Higher" (4:00)
11. "She" (2:45)
12. "Someone" (3:05)
13. "Smearing" (2:50)
14. "Atlanta" (3:20)
15. "The Will" (:52)
16. "Eventime" (4:37)

Written, arranged, recorded, mixed, produced and performed by Doug Pinnick. "Pinappleskunk" with it's akward title is anything but akward. Poundhoud's sophmore release is filled with killer, straight forward, and heavy, groove oriented rock numbers. This one seems a bit more experimental than "Massive Grooves". This is readily apparent in the opening of "Somedays". This one has everything that one would expect from a Doug Pinnack project including downtuned guitars, bone-crushing bass, beautiful rhythms, funky grooves, hard as nails riffs and Doug's signature vocals. This CD is also a solo album in the truest sense. "Pinappleskunk" was written, arranged, recorded, mixed, produced and performed by Doug Pinnick. Doug plays all instruments except for the drums, which are capably handled by none other than Jerry Gaskill.

Emotional Animal Dug Pinnick - Emotional Animal (Magna Carta) 2005

1.      Crashing (3:07)
2.      Beautiful (3:25)
3.      Change (3:13)
4.      Noon (5:32)
5.      Missing (3:34)
6.      Equal Rights (3:31)
7.      Hey Would You Know (3:26)
8.      Zepp (4:56)
9.      Haven't Been Here Before (2:33)
10.     Bite (3:21)
11.     Keep Up (2:49)
12.     Are You Gonna Come (5:33)
13.     Wrong (1:00)
14.     Freak the Funk Ou (5:20)
15.     Mr. Hateyourself (4:19)

Emotional Animal is the third solo album by King's X frontman Dug (formerly Doug) Pinnick. As with his two Poundhound releases, Dug played most of the instruments and sang all the vocals. This time around he enlisted the help of Jerry Gaskill's son Joy Gaskill on drums, Kelly Watson (mouth trumpet and vocals on "Freak The Funk Out") and was mastered by Ty Tabor. So, once again the King's X connections are strong. For whatever reason, this new album is not being marketed as Poundhound, but rather just as Dug Pinnick. According to an interview on the record label site, "Fans have never understood the Poundhound thing,” explains Dug, “and it never made any sense, really. It's all me, anyway. I just did it because Dave Grohl did it, making his first record Foo Fighters, and I thought it was cool. And then I got stuck with it. On the third record, I just decided, let's just let Poundhound go...”

Despite the name change, the sound falls perfectly in line with 1998's "Massive Grooves From the Electric Church of Psychofunkadelic Grungelism Rock Music" and 2001's "Pineappleskunk". As with those album there is the mix of heavy up-tempo rockers like "Crashing," "Mr. Hateyourself" and the reflective, slower tunes such as "Change". There are also the song in which Dug experiments with influences and sounds such as the Gospel stylings of "Equal Rights", the simplistic "When You Gonna Come" and the funk of "Freak the Funk Out". "Zepp" is a song that is obviously patterned after and paying homage to the mighty Led Zeppelin. "Emotional Animal" is exactly what I would have hoped for from Dug "Poundhound" Pinnick.

Back to Index