Pretty Boy Floyd

Leather Boyz... Pretty Boy Floyd - Leather Boyz with Electric Toyz (MCA) 1989

1. Leather Boyz with Electric Toyz (4:50)
2. Rock and Roll (Is Gonna Set the Night on Fire) (3:14)
3. Wild Angels (5:08)
4. Forty-Eight Hours (3:00)
5. Toast of the Town (3:20)
6. Rock and Roll Outlaws (2:34)
7. Only the Young (3:52)
8. The Last Kiss (2:50)
9. Your Mama Won't Know (3:44)
10. I Wanna Be With You (3:56)

Pretty Boy Floyd are the epitome of 80's glam metal; leather, lace, lipstick, and hairspray. It was all about the look, the attitude and the showmanship. These guys even had the Hollywood names; Steve Sex Summers - lead vocals, Kristy Krash Majors - guitars, Vinnie Chas - bass, and Kari "The Mouth" Kane - drums. Together these guys were one of the biggest bands of the late 80's on the Sunset Strip, breaking attendance records at several well known clubs. However, look and attitude without the music would be useless. Pretty Boy Floyd fall somewhere between the nasty heavy metal of early Motley Crue and the poppy glam rock of Poison. The band also took the shimmy and shake of Steven Tyler to a whole new, androgynous level. All this combines together for an undeniably hooky glam metal sound. "Leather Boyz with Electric Toyz" was the Los Angeles glam quartet's major label debut. The title track and "Rock and Roll (Is Gonna Set the Night on Fire)" lead of the album and are easily two of the albums most accessible and memorable tracks. It was a wise decision to open up the album with these two monstrous tracks. However, the song that really stands out with each listen is "Toast of the Town", a song penned by Motley Crue. I'm not sure of the origins of the song. It was an early composition by Crue, yet it was one that wasn't released on any of their early albums, which is odd considering how good the song is. I think that Pretty Boy Floyd's version of the song was the first official release of the song. Songs such as "48 Hours", "Rock And Roll Outlaws" and "Only The Young" rock fairly hard as well. The production here is very slick, which tells me that these songs would have been much heavier in a live setting. There are a couple of slower paced songs as well titled "Wild Angels" and "I Wanna Be With You". Overall, the band's debut wasn't the hugely successful smash hit that people were expecting it to be, but it very well could have been. It did hit at #130 on the Billboard charts, only to quickly fall off. The band really had it all, proving once again it takes more than looks, talent, and a big label to be successful.

Back to Index