Roxy Blue

Want Some? Roxy Blue - Want Some? (Geffen) 1992

1. " Too Hot to Handle" (3:17)
2. "Sister Sister" (4:17)
3. "Times Are Changin'" (5:04)
4. "It's So Easy" (3:39)
5. "Rob the Cradle" (4:46)
6. "Squeeze Box" (3:37)
7. "Talk of the Town" (3:26)
8. "Rock-a-Bye Baby" (3:27)
9. "Luv On Me" (5:19)
10. "Nobody Knows" (4:14)
11. "Love's Got a Hold on Me" ( 4:03)
12. "Main Attraction" (5:18)

A friend sent me this CD quite some time ago. I played it once and sort of blew it off as just another faceless hair band. However, over several months, I would pick the disc back up and give it another spin. Over time I began to enjoy the CD and the hooks and solid playing really began to grab me. Roxy Blue are comparable to the Tesla, the first Skid Row, Tora Tora, Y&T, or Fear Not. They have that similar gusty rock and roll feel, with a touch of Van Halen guitar pyrotechnics to boot. The guitar solos throughout are well played. Guitarist Sid Fletcher certainly spent some time studying at the Eddie Van Halen school of guitar licks. Take a listen to the guitar intro of "Rob the Cradle" and see if visions of Eddie don't run through your head. Todd Poole has a good voice for this style of late 80's hard rock, complete with that slight throaty rasp. Of the twelve songs included here, the band's cover of The Who's "Squeeze Box" is probably my least favorite, although I have a feeling if this song had been released as a single, a year or two earlier, Roxy Blue might have had a hit. The standout cut are "Rob the Cradle", the upbeat "Love's Got a Hold on Me" and the melodic "Sister Sister". Overall, however, Want Some? is a solid, hard rock album chock full of fun, catchy, and well played tunes.

Back to Index