A second incarnation of Saxon formed long after Graham Oliver and Steve Dawson split from the Biff Byford and Paul Quinn version of the band. In 1994, Graham Oliver and Steve Dawson, founding members of Saxon, reunited under the name Son of a Bitch. This had been Saxon's original moniker when they were a mere club band in the 70's. In 2000 they decided to officially rename themselves Oliver/Dawson Saxon. The band has been known by this name ever since. Saxon singer Biff" Byford  has attempted legal injunction against the use of the name "Saxon" in the band's title.

Re://landed Oliver/Dawson Saxon - Re://Landed (Phoenix Music) 2000

1. "Power & The Glory" (7:11)
2. "Rock 'N' Roll Gypsy" (5:19)
3. "Strong Arm Of The Law" (5:14)
4. "And The Bands Played On" (3:15)
5. "Past The Point" (4:13)
6. "Dallas 1PM" (6:30)
7. "Rockin' Again" (4:40)
8. "747 (Strangers In The Night)" (5:12)
9. "The Eagle Has Landed" (8:31)
10. "Motorcycle Man" (4:27)
11. "Wheels Of Steel" (6:13)

A live album from the second incarnation of Saxon featuring 11 songs from the early years of "Saxon" when Oliver and Dawson were in the band. The one exception being "Past The Point", which is from Son of a Bitch, which is what the band called themselves before changing the name to Saxon. Musically, a very tight live album. Excellent song selection which features many of the classics. Of course, without Biff, it just doesn't sound like Saxon. Vocalist John "Wardi" Ward sings in a clean style but has a very rough and tough voice. At times he reminded me of Paul DiAnno, not so much in tone, but in style. Guitarist Steve Dawson certainly still has his chops. This CD sounds great but without Biff, it's not Saxon. It's too bad the two sides can't resolve whatever issues it is they have and move on.

Steve Dawson
Steve Dawson

Rock Has Landed, It's Alive Oliver/Dawson Saxon - Rock Has Landed, It's Alive (Deadline) 2002

1. "Power & the Glory"
2. "Rock and Roll Gypsies"
3. "Strong Arm of the Law"
4. "Past the Point"
5. "Dallas 1PM"
6. "747 (Strangers in the Night)"
7. "The Eagle Has Landed"
8. "Bitch of A Place to Be"
9. "Once More Forthe Road"
10. "Motorcycle Man"
11. "Wheels of Steel/Devil Rides Out"
12. "Strong Arm of the Law"

Oliver/Dawson Saxon captured live. Not band footage of the band, but I found it quite annoying that they kept sticking in those candid shots during the live footage, even interrupting the music every now and then for some backstage tom foolery. Personally I prefer the new cuts to the classic songs on here. I think no matter how good the vocalist fronting these two veterans are, they will always sound like a Saxon cover band without Biff. However, the new material is quite good in their traditional Saxon, heavy metal style. These songs got me a bit anxious to hear some new studio material from these guys. The video also includes a bio of Saxon which, of course, steers clear of the modern day Biff/Quinn version of Saxon.

Related Collections:

Back to Index