The Isle of Hydra Soldier - The Definitive Collection 1985-1989 (M8) 2001

1. "Babylon" (1:30)
2. "Louder Than Hell" (3:32)
3. "Deadly Weapons" (2:58)
4. "One Of A Kind" (3:01)
5. "Priceless heart" (4:11)
6. "Where Have All The Children Gone" (3:04)
7. "King Of The City" (2:59)
8. "Borderline" (3:41)
9. "Angel" (3:52)
10. "First Time" ( 3:28)
11. "Promises" (5:09)
California Metal 2
12. "Borderline" (3:32)
13. "Tears" (3:54)
Louder Than Hell
14. "Heart Of Stone" (3:03)
15. "Somebody New" (3:44)
16. "Angel" (4:05)
17. "King of The City" [live] (3:13)
18. "Glory & Honor"
[live] (3:03)
19. "Priceless Heart"
[live] (5:23)
20. "Heart Of Stone"
[live] (4:03)

In the early days of Christian metal, when people bought compilations to discover new metal bands, Soldier released two excellent metal numbers of California Metal II. The band seemed wildly popular at the time, selling thousands of copies of their self-produced tape 'Babylon' of which I myself had a copy. Their sound was of a slightly heavier Dokken. For some reason, despite the fact that this band had the hooks, the sound, the look, and even the audience, they never could get a decent record contract. Well, after only releasing the two independent tapes, the band seemed to disappear. In 2001 these old recordings were resurrected on CD by M8 and released in this wonderful package, along with the two California Metal tracks that helped me to discover the band back in the late 90's. Couldn't have asked for a nicer re-release, although the thin production could have been beefed up a bit. According to the liner notes however, these tracks were remastered before being released. My favorite tracks are still "Borderline" and "Tears" from that compilation. (Nostalgia perhaps?)

Back to Index