Status Quo - B-Sides & Rarities (Castle) 1990

1.  I (Who Have Nothing) (3:05)
2.  Neighbour Neighbour (2:47)
3.  Hurdy Gurdy Man (3:19)
4.  Laticia (3:04)
5.  (We Ain't Got) Nothin' Yet (2:22)
6.  I Want It (3:06)
7.  Almost But Not Quite There (2:50)
8.  Wait Just A Minute (2:15)
9.  Gentleman Joe's Sidewalk Café (3:01)
10. To Be Free (2:37)
11. When My Mind Is Not Alive (2:49)
12. Make Me Stay A Little Bit Longer (2:58)
13. Auntie Nellie (3:23)
14. The Price Of Love (3:42)
15. Little Miss Nothing (3:00)
16. Down The Dustpipe (2:06)
17. Face Without A Soul (3:07)
18. In My Chair (3:17)
19. Gerdundula (3:23)
20. Tune To The Music (3:10)
21. Good Thinking Batman (3:36)
22. Time To Fly (4:20)
23. Do You Live In Fire (2:17)
24. Josie (3:38)

This is an odds & sods collection of Status Quo and pre-Quo b-sides and singles. The first six songs are all The Spectres from 1966 - 1967. This band sounded fairly typical for 60's British rock, sounding like The Yardbirds, the Dave Clark Five and similar bands. As far as I am aware these songs are everything this band recorded before changing their name to Traffic Jam. After a number of lineup changes, the band became The Status Quo in 1967 and Status Quo in 1969. "Wait Just A Minute" is the sole track from Traffic Jam. The remaining tracks are all Status Quo tracks, all of which sound like 60's British Invasion style rock.

Honestly, if Status Quo wasn't one of the blueprints for This Is Spinal Tap, I'd be shocked. Their story is so similar and even the way their music/sound progressed from "Cups & Cakes" to "Give Me Some Money" to..., you get the picture. Consider "B-Sides" to be a collection of The Originals, the New Originals and The Thamesmen material all rolled together into one.

Back to Index