t e r a m a z e Teramaze

Teramaze began as an excellent heavy, progressive metal from Australia. After breaking up in 1999, the band reformed two years later and changed styles to modern rock. According to the band members "...the reason we changed was that we broke up for 2 years and grew out of the metal scene...it seemed to limit (us) as a song writers." Needless to say, this collection is now complete.

Doxology Teramaze - Doxology (Empire) 1995

1. "Intro" [instrumental] (1:25)
2. "Divergence" (4:39)
3. "Spirits Arising" (4:48)
4. "Thoughts of Renewel" (6:06)
5. "Generation 'X'" (4:42)
6. "Dying World" (4:39)
7. "Emancipation" (4:16)
8. "Engraved" (5:32)
9. "Manology" (4:01)
10. "Ever Enhancing" (4:28)
11. "Speak of Black" (4:41)
12. "Positive Mind Control" (5:26)
13. "Outro" [instrumental] (2:01)

Jaw dropping technical power metal. Teramaze's first album is simply spectacular. They bill themselves as a progressive band, but they are much heavier than most progressive bands. While Teramaze do retain a melodic sound, they also incorporated elements of speed and thrash metal. Unfortunately, this would be the one and only CD that the band would record in this style as their next album would go in a much more melodic direction. This CD was only released in Australia and is a bit hard to come by these days.

Tears to DUst Teramaze - Tears to Dust (Rowe) 1998

1. "Carousal Chain" (4:37)
2. "Shadows" (4:01)
3. "Once Lost" (4:52)
4. "The Unseen" (4:56)
5. Storm Rain Tears" (5:28)
6. "Damascus" (3:53)
7. "Deeper Crying" (6:21)
8. "Majestic Arrival" (3:57)
9. "Ever Enhancing" (4:04)
10. "Audience of Evidence" (6:34)

Another spectacular progressive album, but this one sound more like what you would expect from a progressive metal band. The speed and thrash elements are all gone and replaced with a more melodic and even commercial approach, however the production is much improved. The lead work is stellar as are the vocals. Despite the style change, Teramaze's second disc is still outstanding. "Tears" is much easier to find than the first album. This one is easily obtainable on-line and by special order.

Back to Index