Tower of Hundred - At Odds With The World (independent) 2004

1. "Victory" (3:51)
2. "Take Me Away" (3:49)
3. "Satisfied" (4:10)
4. "Bema Seat" (4:08)
5. "Abandoned" (3:49)
6. "Face to Face" (3:29)
7. "God's Eyes" (3:26)
8. "Wonderful" (4:19)
9. "The Call" (3:38)
10. "Empty Space" (4:16)
11. "P23" (4:26)

There was once a time when Christian bands weren't afraid to be labeled a Christian band. Tower of Hundred are a band that is not ashamed whatsoever to be labeled "Christian". Their sole purpose seems to be sharing their faith and singing praises to their Lord. Musically Tower of Hundred recall those glory days of Christian heavy metal as well. "At Odds With the World" is crunchy, simplistic, mid-paced, heavy metal with some slightly more modern riffs. Fans of bands like Messiah Prophet and Missionary One will probably dig these guys. The production is raw and almost has a live feel to it. The raw recording, along with the simplistic nature of the songs, makes for an enjoyable listen for this long time metal fan. However, I must confess that the vocals were a bit of a letdown for me at first. While Matt Kearny can sing, he lacks charisma and aggression in his vocals. Heavy music demands aggressive vocals, whether they be that high falsetto style of power metal or the heavier, grittier thrash style. However, I have a feeling that the vocals would be far more aggressive in a live setting. (Believe me, I know how hard that is to capture in the studio.) Despite this minor complaint, "At Odds With the World" will bring smiles to the faces of those longing for metal with a clear evangelistic message and a classic metal sound.

Back to Index