Moonflower Lane Ty Tabor - Moonflower Lane (Metal Blade) 1998

1. "I Do" (3:25)
2. "The Island Sea" (3:56)
3. "Live in Your House" (4:15)
4. "I Know Everything" (5:25)
5. "The Truth" (4:30)
6. "Without You" (4:19)
7. "Hollow Eyes" (5:49)
8. "Walk With My Love" (3:05)
9. "Another Day" (3:15)
10. "Her Palace" (5:31)

It seems to me that King's X are doing too many side projects because the more recent King's X albums are anywhere near as good as albums like Poundhound, Supershine and this disc, Ty Tabor's second solo effort titled "Moonflower Lane". Honestly, this album sounds more like what I want to hear from King's X than 'Tapehead' and 'Mr. Bulbous." Songs like "Live in Your House" sound as good as much of the material on "Gretchen" or "Silent Planet." This song, as do several others on this disc, has those big "Beatle-esque" layered vocals and catchy sign along choruses that I loved so much about songs like "Over My Head" and "Shot of Love." Other highlight include the album opener "I Do," the melodic hard rocker "The Island Sea,"and the melodic groove of "I Know Everything". Tabor handles all of the album's singing on "Moonflower Lane" and at times he reminds me a bit of John Lennon, although the music is far removed from the Beatles. Tabor also handles all the guitars and bass. Galactic Cowboy drummer Alan Doss handles the drum work. As I said, this album sounds more like King's X than some of the more recent King's X albums. Had this album had a King's X logo on the cover, rather than Ty's name, I would have been raving how this was the best King's X album to have been released in years.

Safety Ty Tabor - Safety (Metal Blade) 2002

1. "Tulip (Your Eyes)" (5:11)
2. "Better To Be On Hold" (4:31)
3. "Missing Love" (4:24)
4. "Funeral" (2:52)
5. "Room For Me" (4:41)
6. "Safety" (4:25)
7. "True Love" (4:34)
8. "Now I Am" (4:03)
9. "Anger" (4:16)
10. "I Don't Mind" (6:51)

"Safety" is Ty's second solo record recorded for Metal Blade in which he has taken some steps away from the crunch of King's X to craft an honest, emotionally revealing album, complete with the crisp acoustic guitars, thick grooves and his signature vocal melodies. Ty creates a rainbow of melodies and harmonies from which to chose. For the most part, however,this CD is pretty melancholy. There are a few heavier moments, such as the groove-laden "Funeral." However, fans of strictly heavier music may be put off a bit by this disc. As for me, I quite enjoy it for a change of pace. I'd actually probably label much of this CD as pop, but the problem with that is that the term pop brings up thoughts of corporate boy bands and busty divas kissing on stage. That is not the case here at all. Ty simply plays from his heart and offers it to the listener. Kudos!

Back to Index