For Whose Advantage Victor (Atlantic) 1996

1. "Don't Care" (4:04)
2. "Promise" (5:44)
3. "Start Today" (3:48)
4. "Mr. X" [instrumental] (2:21)
5. "At the End" (6:07)
6. "Sending Out a Warning" (4:11)
7. "Shut Up Shuttin' Up" (4:02)
8. "Strip and Go Naked" [instrumental] (3:57)
9. "The Big Dance" (4:14)
10. "Victor" (6:25)
11. "I Am the Spirit" (5:31)

Solo album from Rush guitarist Alex Liefson. As might be expected, this CD sounds nothing like Rush. However several songs ("Promise", "The Big Dance", & "I Am the Spirit") contain some signature Liefson guitar licks, even though the songs themselves still sound little like Alex's main band. There is a ton of experimental stuff contained on here as well. The oddest song on the entire disc is "Shut Up Shuttin' Up", featuring two women complaining about men and basically saying men are good for nothing more than playing guitar. "Strip and Go Naked" is an instrumental with an Eastern influence. Overall, an interesting disc for the Rush die-hard.

Back to Index