Human Hell Warmachine - The Beginning Of The End (Nightmare) 2006

1. "Betrayed" (3:39)
2. "Empty" (3:32)
3. "Beginning of the End" (4:52)
4. "Safe Haven" (3:12)
5. "Fate" (4:15)
6. "Eternally" (3:32)
7. "Forgotten Demise" (4:10)
8. "Taunted Souls" (4:15)
9. "Eye For An Eye" (4:18)
10. "Dust to Dust" (4:13)
11. "Apocalypse" (4:16)

Warmachine received quite a bit of hype in the metal underground because of this independent release, not necessarily because of the music, but rather for the impressive musicians that played on it. Well-known musicians such as ex-Megadeth bassist Dave Ellefson, Iced Earth guitarist Ralph Santolla and Harem Scarem singer Harry Hess have guest spots on "The Beginning of the End". However, the music does indeed stand up to the hype. Warmachine play traditional heavy metal, but does not neccessarily sound like what that label might suggest. While they do have a lot in common with bands like Priest and Maiden, their melodic metal is heavier than most power metal bands and is not saturated in dungeons and dragons lyrics and keyboards. While I would be leary to call them thrash, I also hear plenty of influence from bands like Megadeth and Metallica.

Originally recorded in 1994, Nightmare Records released "The Beginning of the End" in 2006.

Back to Index