Wingdom - Reality (The A Label) 2005

1. "Time" (5:14)
2. "Where Do We Go" (4:35)
3. "Marionette" (3:47)
4. "A Sigh Of Despair" (5:14)
5. "The Essence" (5:32)
6. "Everyday" (5:01)
7. "Never Stop" (5:37)
8. "Tomorrow" (4:23)
9. "Lighthouse" (6:17)

Well, I picked up this CD on the suggestion of a friend who loves progressive metal and rock. For some reason I let it sit on the shelf for more than a week after I picked it up as I had so many new CDs to review. Well, all I can say after finally ripping off the cellophane and listening to this CD is WOW! Wingdom hails from Finland and is the brainchild of former Sonata Arctica keyboardist Mikko Härkin. Mikko has written all the lyrics and the music and quite frankly has done quite an amazing job! "Reality" is very progressive and takes a ton of influence from Dream Theater, but also incorporates a lot of power metal as well. The music isn't super heavy and relies heavily on the use of keyboards, as might be expected. However, that is not to say that the music sounds light or wimpy either. Those familiar with Harmony or Balance of Power will understand what I mean. As much as I love prog-metal and power metal, a lot of the new stuff being released sound very generic to me. Many of the bands are beginning to sound the same. This is not the case with Wingdom at all. Instead of trying to do power metal for power metal sake, the band tries to express a lot of emotion in the music. Granted this makes for a mellower, more melodic output, but I don't think Wingdom ever intented to be the band that metalhead thrash around the room to. Rather, this is a CD you put on and kick back to. The near perfect production, musicianship, lyrics, vocals and songwriting will leave you wanting for more.

There is a Japanese pressing on Victor Records with an instrumental bonustrack titled "Bez Tibja".

Back to Index