Argus Wishbone Ash – Argus (Decca) 1972

1. Time Wars
2. Sometime World
3. Blowin Free
4. The King Will Come
5. Leaf and Stream
6. Warrior
7. Throw Down the Sword

Wishbone Ash, along with Thin Lizzy, are one of the band's credited with inspiring the twin guitar attack that fueled hard rock and heavy metal in the late 70's and into the 1980's. Guitarist Andy Powell’s winding runs on the fretboard of his Flying V became a trademark for the band. Bands like Iron Maiden and Helloween are largely influenced by this band's sound. Though Wishbone Ash are not a heavy metal band themselves, they are often labeled a proto-metal band for their huge influence on the style. The band blended two unlikely styles, wedding the prog-rock of bands like Genesis and Yes with their signature twin guitar attack. At times they almost have a Southern rock appeal, not unlike the Allman Brothers. In the end what they deliver on "Argus" is a carefully crafted blend of hard rock and folky, progressive rock and roll.

Back to Index