Zaxas Zaxas (Noise) 1995

1. "The Anvil" (3:21)
2. "Images of Princes" (4:07)
3. "Mr. Primetime" (4:22)
4. "Lies in the Balance" (3:36)
5. "Revolving Door" (3:08)
6. "In the Beginning" (3:08)
7. "Soul Survivor" (4:27)
8. "White Room Life" (3:36)
9. "Last Chance Believer" (4:28)
10. "Ashes to Ashes" (5:24)

Zaxas play a brand of power metal that was considered uncool in 1995. Who cares! Power metal rules! This is real American power metal too, not keyboard-infused, dungeons & dragons, flower metal. Zaxas, who share a label with such great bands as Celtic Frost, Helloween, Rage and Kreator, continue in the same vein, flying high their heavy metal banner. Zaxas' vocalist/lead guitarist Dale Anthony has a voice that sometime emulates Ronnie James Dio. The music, however, is more akin to Metal Church than to Dio. The lyrics seem focused on social and political issues. "Mr. Primetime"is a song about how America has become too dependent on television, "Lies in the Balance" deals with corrupt politicians and makes a few snide references to President Clinton. Great disc.

I wonder what happened to these guys after this album? Hmm. . . Anyhow, good luck finding this one as Noise has taken it out of print. My copy is autographed.

Back to Index