Astral Prjector Back Down to Earth Zon - Astral Projector/ Back Down to Earth (Escape Records) 1978/1979

1. "Put on the Show" (4:18)
2. "Time for Your Love" (3:15)
3. "Point of View/Where to Spend My Dollars" (8:02)
4. "Man in the Mirror" (5:24)
5. "Talkin' About" (3:08)
6. "Melody" (2:40)
7. "On the Road" (4:26)
8. "Astral Projector" (4:48)
9. "Hollywood" (4:18)

1. "Circus" (3:59)
2. "Please Stay" (3:43)
3. "Lifeline" (3:22)
4. "As Seasons Change" (4:01)
5. "Suicide" (3:26)
6. "Back Down to Earth" (3:27)
7. "Cheater" (3:37)
8. "Take It From Me" (2:55)
9. "When He's Old" (4:05)
10. "Gods and Kings" (4:18)

Zon? Who the heck are Zon? If you would have asked me a week ago I would have shrugged my shoulders as well. However, thanks to the magic of the internet, I was introduced to this band by a reader of this site. I began to do a bit of search on the band and discovered that Zon are a Canadian pomp rock band from the 70's. Reading varous reviews and opinions, most people compare these guys to bands like Styx, Starz and even Angel and I certainly would agree. However, Zon also are a bit progressive and at times reminded me of Queen at times. "Astral Projector" is the best though "Back Down to Earth" is pretty darn good as well, especially "Circus" and "Gods and Kings." The debut is the slightly more pompy of the two and contains the classic title track and the brilliant "Put On The Show". Escape Records did a great job with the mastering and the packaging as well.

Back to Index